Going Fibrous

by joanabagano

I went to the doctor on Saturday concerning chronic headaches and blood on my stool. He didn’t tell me the correlation between both of these incidents but recommended that I increase my fiber intake for three days. In fact, he told me to refrain from eating meat for the same duration although, of course, I knew I wouldn’t be able to follow this upon being faced with a sumptuous buffet on Monday lunch time.

Now that the buffet is done and over with, I’m totally revamping my diet to accommodate more vegetables and less animal flesh. I went to the grocer and bought carrots and cucumber after sipping some pineapple and melon shake. I also reminded our dorm concessionaire that I’ll be vegan for the next few days.

Being a student and a hardworking one at that (believe me) has forced me to let go of some of my exercise habits and eventually give up all the rest after learning this month would be a really hectic one for me. I’m not afraid, not yet, because I frequently walk to and from class so I still have a bit of physical activity to balance my mental strains and inadequate diet (our dorm concessionaire would sometimes prepare menus that have meat in them for all three meals).

I was reminded how vegetables and fruits frequented our dinner table when I was still living at home. I had no health problems, well except for a generic family skin sensitivity to changing temperatures and pollen and dust and all those little allergens that make you scratch until you bleed. But that’s for another topic.

Anyway, here is a vegan meal suggestion I combined from http://www.yummyvegetarianrecipes.com/ that won’t make you miss meat. I just hope we had a stove or oven here somewhere so I could cook.

 Main Entree: Spaghetti and Veggie Meatballs (yay! I love meatballs!)

  • 15 frozen packaged fake meatballs (we like trader joe’s brand but if making it vegan, make sure fake meat is vegan!)
  • 16 oz. can or box of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp fresh chopped basil (or 1 tsp dried)
  • 1/4 cup chopped onions
  • 1 medium chopped garlic clove
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions:

  1. Start to boil a large pot of water in order to cook spaghetti.
  2. In a medium to large saucepan, heat olive oil.
  3. Add the frozen Veggie Meatballs and cook for 10 minutes until nicely browned all around and fully cooked. Careful not to burn though…
  4. Add the chopped onion and cook for 3 minutes to soften them.
  5. Add the chopped garlic, stir for 30 seconds to heat garlic and then add the
    tomatoes, basil salt and pepper.
  6. Bring sauce to a boil and then simmer for 8-10 minutes…
  7. Cook spaghetti in the boiling water (usually done in 8-10 minutes).
  8. Add veggie meatballs and sauce over freshly cooked spaghetti.

Top with Parmesan, Romano, and/or our vegan cheese shake.

Drink: Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (more or less to your desire!)
  • 1 cup rice milk (or soy, if you prefer)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

Directions

1. Put all the items in the blender, blend away.
2. Add more rice or soy milk until you get the consistency you like.
You can also add a few ice cubes if you’d like it less thick.
3. Enjoy.

Dessert: Corn Bread (this one is high in fiber)

  • 1 ¼ cups yellow cornmeal
  • 1 ¼ cups unbleached white flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 ½ cups boiling water mixed with 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon oil for pan
Directions:
  1. Heat oven to 425° F. Lightly oil a cast-iron skillet with a little canola oil. Heat it in the oven while you mix the cornbread batter
  2. In a large bowl stir together the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, brown sugar and salt.
  3. Add the boiling water mixed with 2 tablespoons canola oil and stir to mix. Do not overmix. Add additional hot water if necessary to make a light batter.
  4. Spoon batter into the hot cast-iron skillet. Batter should sizzle when it contacts the skillet. Bake 30 minutes or until the cornbread is light brown on top and springs back to the touch.
  5. Cut into wedges and serve.

 I’ll have this meal when I get home. MMM. And I might need to restart my regular jogging.

 

