I Don’t Love You/I Still Love You

by joanabagano

Tonight, I suddenly remembered My Chemical Romance.

Lyrics here.

This is a 5-year old song of theirs I used to hear on MTV. Probably, it’s one of the more bitter songs I kept looping on my mp3 player in high school.

My Chemical Romance is a band that used to mean something quite important to me. Their other hit, Welcome To The Black Parade, has a verse with the following for its first two lines:

We’ll carry on
We’ll carry on

Those three words were a promise someone gave me. I held on to it thinking that it was true. Just after a few months, the band released “I Don’t Love You” which was surprisingly timely because during its heavy airtime days, the promise of “carrying on” got broken. Then began my endless looping of “I Don’t Love You”.

Now, after five years, the two songs above don’t mean anything much to me (well, except for their intended meanings, which I honestly don’t relate to anymore).

On the contrary, I’m still grateful for the past because no matter how “emo” it has been, God allowed me to experience it to realize true joy and security. Standards have been set to a higher level and purpose has been put right where it should be.

For now, I’d like to share a rendering of I Don’t Love You’s lyrics, straight from a Christian perspective. Here it goes:

Well, when you go
So always think that I am here to stay
And surely when you get back 
I’ll be here, still on the wait

And after all the time you felt alone
I’m still the God of everything you have known
So take my hand and get up
Better get up
Here’s my hand

When you go
I hope you get to hear Me say
“I still love you
Like I did
Yesterday”

Sometimes you cry so hard from pleading
You’re sick and tired of all the needless beating
But dear child when they knock you
Down and out
With Me you oughta stay

And after all the blood that sweetly flowed
I hope that you, My child would fin’lly know
To fix your eyes and get up
Better get up
And hold My hand
Whoa, whooa

When you go
I hope you get to hear Me say
“I still love you
Like I did
Yesterday”**

Truly, there is no one who can love anyone more than God loving man. He is the ultimate standard. His love transforms people and makes the sordid past a venue for His glory to be seen — not that He rejoices in our former mistakes but that He takes pride in a child that Has come back to Him.

People come and go like the wind, they wither like the grass and they fall like the flowers but God stays true to Himself and that includes staying true to His word which says, “Child, I have loved You with an everlasting love. Be made complete in Me and the love that I have demonstrated for you on the cross.” 

2:45AM
March 12, 2012

**This is derivative work so if at all you think that I am infringing on copyright, please do inform me so I can take this down. However, it’s not for commercial purposes so I’m asking you to permit me. Please?

Gerard Way, do consider my lyrics when you come to know Jesus. 🙂

I am the thorn in Your crown
But You love me anyway
I am the sweat from Your brow
But You love me anyway
I am the nail in Your wrist
But You love me anyway
I am Judas’ kiss
But You love me anyway
-Sidewalk Prophets, You Love Me Anyway 

