The Summer Project

by joanabagano

The semester is finally over.

All grades are in. All grades are out. Which is better to use? I mean, if you look at it, they both sound okay. In. Out. In. Out. I’d like to use in, please. Out just doesn’t cut it for me. I don’t want to be out of the passing grade. Don’t also want to be out of the college. Or the university, for that matter.

Anyway, today is the epitome of a perfect vacation:

1.) I’m home and home is not very cold nor very warm. Just the right temperature for an early morning jog- no drying of skin and no excessive sweating.
2.) The brothers are not YET annoying since it’s just my first day back. Suddenly, I remember them telling me to do all the dishes today. Wow, what am I going to look forward to in the coming days? Laundry? Housekeeping? They better make it clear so I’ll know whether to take a summer job or not.

And then after no. 2, today is no longer the epitome of a perfect vacation.

Fast forward to tomorrow, when I’ll no longer be doing all the dishes.

Weeetootowotowoyyiewwwowotutyyy (that’s the FFW sound on our DVD player)

Last year, Facebook took up 1/2 of my summer. This year, I’m going to make up for the lost time. Hope you find some ideas you can use when you’re already bored:

1. Go to the beach. Ain’t summer for going to the beach?
2. Climb a mountain. Well, not the mountain our house is on if you know where I live. Climb A mountain. Just one, okay?
3. Write twenty chapters. I’m starting a new story and I might look for an agent by the end of the summer.
4. Blow bubbles around the house and tell the brothers you have been cleaning.
5. Prepare lunch and dinner and make sure the brothers eat everything. *evil laugh*
6. Go out with the high school BFFs and refrain from talking about the past. In other words, shut your mouth. :)) (Who said I’m gonna do this?)
7. Sell clothes you haven’t worn for a year. Regret when you realize fashion trends return in the future.
8. Learn another language and make sure you don’t give up when the long words come.
9. Learn to play an instrument and don’t give up when the brothers laugh at you.
10. Dye your hair all the colors of the rainbow.
11. Find someone to teach everything you’ve learned the past semester. Wait. Find someone willing to learn what you’ve been taught. Someone, anyone?
12. Start the interview project. Look for people to write about.
13. Read all the procrastinated books and wonder why you don’t understand the story anymore.
14-100. Get some more of God. More. More. More. You can never have enough.

The above are telling me to get off Facebook and start doing something more worth my life and my time. I will be blogging more frequently, too, to update about the project. 😉

