A New Business

by joanabagano

…but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD…
Jeremiah 9:24

This semester, I am laying off all the workers in my mind. They are too noisy, too caught up with the things they have done, are doing and want to do. They are drowning out reality, letting me ignore the simple goodbyes of my room mate when she goes out to watch TV or the texts of my friends who are asking where and why on earth have I gone missing.

I am letting them all go because I am in a new business – the business of knowing the Lord. I don’t care about the emotional and intellectual profit my dear workers are bringing, not anymore, that is, and all I really want to do for the coming months is bask in the knowledge of who He is. How I can contain that, I really don’t know. Honestly, I won’t and I can’t. He’s too big for life. I just know that if I am going to let Him consume me, I would have to let Him consume all that’s living in me.

He’s the business manager, actually. And I am no one but His humble worker. How could I have been unmindful, wanting the glory due Him? Craving for the position only He can have?

I don’t have anyone working for me. No one should be working for me.

