Today, there hasn’t been much daylight and the night is too long.

by joanabagano

How do you define ‘time’? Is it through the measures man came up with – seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks? Is it through moments you share with the good people, the people you hate, just people? Is it by thoughts you think and words you drop or milestones you achieve and paths you take?

I am confused. I don’t want to look ‘time’ up in the dictionary for fear that my definition would become limited. That has always been my way with words. The dictionary tells so little of a word sometimes that I begin to see the word shrink after I read its ‘meaning’. But do we really need to define ‘time’? It can run out before you and I can find the perfect definition, much faster before you can even read the rest of this blog post.

Rarely do I finish a book impacting enough to let me forget the clutter I need to organize and find me unhesitatingly opening my laptop for a blog post.

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom arrived in my life at just the right minute. This minute, among many other perfectly-timed moments as some would call them, was one of many hundred minutes this week that I felt I could use some more hours to sleep, study and stay awake (yes, each one is different from the other especially the last two.) I read the book in-between rush hours, while waiting for the train to drop me at the next station, and before doing looming school requirements.

This is not a review as I am not fond of reviewing books especially for the sake of letting people know I can do a good critique, more so because my definition of ‘good’ may be different from the author’s. See how dictionary definitions can be so limiting? I am not anti-reference, however, because I don’t know all the words there are in the universe and I am far from perfecting my English. I believe that writing is for writing’s sake and not for pleasing readers or being wrapped in their own creative fingers. I appreciate writing clubs and classes. These are but springboards. You don’t flap your wings as much when you’re flying as when you began to take flight. Each author has a readership and if we are not part of that readership, why bother if you had not in the least tried to read?

Anyway, if I came across as bitter and patronizing, it’s because I am, especially when people don’t appreciate the books I read. And that just negates the sense of subjectivity and “to-each-his-own” philosophy I had been discussing.

“Sitting high above the city, Father Time realized that knowing something and understanding it were not the same thing.”

I just wanted to waste your time. Was it effective enough that I didn’t need to explain with that previous sentence?

Time. It’s everything and nothing all at once. Everything for people who seem to have less hours a day than they were given. Nothing for those who have, yes, nothing to do.

“As mankind grew obsessed with its hours, the sorrow of lost time became a permanent hole in the human heart. People fretted over missed chances, over inefficient days; they worried constantly about how long they would live, because counting life’s moments had led, inevitably, to counting them down. Soon, in every nation and in every language, time became the most precious commodity.”

Albom nailed it. Through my heart and thinking. Read the book and don’t ask why. I need not take up any more of the rest of your life with this.

Quotes in italics are from the book.

