I am Second.

by joanabagano

I am Second is a movement meant to inspire people of all kinds to live for God and for others. Actors. Athletes. Musicians. Business leaders. Drug addicts. Your next-door neighbor. People like you. The authentic stories on iamsecond.com provide insight into dealing with typical struggles of everyday living. These are stories that give hope to the lonely and the hurting, help from destructive lifestyles, and inspiration to the unfulfilled. You’ll discover people who’ve tried to go it alone and have failed. Find the hope, peace, and fulfillment they found. Be Second.

________________________________________________________________

It feels good to be first – first place, first to hear the biggest news, first to be invited, first to be told a secret, first on the line. It feels even better to be first in my own life – to decide on my own and to live my life as I would want it. All these things seem great and they look appealing. While they last. At first.

Second is something else. In this world’s standards, second falls short. I never wanted to be second (although I have become second a lot of times). All my life I’ve been aiming for top spot even without me knowing it. I had thought that my opinions were better than others, my ideas more creative, my general knowledge more expanded. Time and again, these notions would fail me – I would find someone more opinionated, someone wittier, someone who knew more than the facts I did.

I have struggled with this kind of competition for a long time until I encountered the new meaning of being second.

________________________________________________________________

This is the first I am Second video I watched that inspired me to be second – to put my God first above everything and in the process continually relegate myself (my wants, my motives, my heart, everything that constitutes my person) to the next position. Three years since watching the video, I’ve been following the movement and spreading it to my friends. Now, I am part of the 200-strong launch team of the Week of Second Campaign. Throughout the week of Dec 9-15, several other bloggers and I will be posting at least four times to respond to the book entitled, “Live Second: 365 Ways to Make Jesus First” by Doug Bender.

_________________________________________________________________

This is my way of sharing to the public why I decided to become second and why this decision entails no regrets.

If you want to join the blogging blast, email launch@iamsecond.com. Through joining, you will be able to read Doug Bender’s still upcoming book, share your faith and testimony and inspire others into becoming second too.

_________________________________________________________________

1 John 4:19 We love because He FIRST loved us.

John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God and the Word was God.

_________________________________________________________________

I am Joana Bagano, an aspiring peace journalist, a fan of literature, ice cream and marshmallows and I am Second.

I Am Second_Joana Bagano

 

