Internship Day 1: Inspiration

by joanabagano

For the purposes of wise time management (which I have been hoping to accomplish for n years) I decided to be an intern for two offices this summer.

One of the offices, Bronze Age Media, Inc., held a writing workshop at iAcademy, Makati on Saturday. I didn’t explicitly show it but I think I was even more excited than a lot of the young participants (mostly high schoolers). Well, writing is one of the foremost loves of my life. I can’t say I’m already very good at it but if I were asked a list of the things I’m sure of in this life, writing would be on top.

Anyway, it was my first day of internship and my first time to meet the Bronze Age team headed by its CEO, Ms. Mina. They are a friendly and intelligent bunch so I got the hang of things easily.

Let me speak more about the event through pictures (captions, actually.)

Ms. Mina and her husband, Sir Mike. They're both published writers. The words 'my dream relationship' is written all over this picture.

Ms. Mina and her husband Sir Mike are both published writers. The words ‘my dream relationship’ are written all over this picture.

One of my co-interns, Mai. She's from Miriam College.

One of my co-interns, Mai. She’s from Miriam College.

Ms. Mina speaking to YA and Romance writers about the three different types of leading men in literature: 1) the jock, 2) the friend and 3) the enemy.

Ms. Mina speaking to YA and Romance writers about the three different types of leading men in literature: 1) the jock, 2) the friend and 3) the enemy.

Sir Mike (who's also from UP Diliman) lecturing on how to write Sci-Fi.

Sir Mike (a graduate of UP Diliman) lectured on how to write Sci-Fi. This is the part of every writing workshop where the participants have to understand that writing as a career isn’t going to be easy (financially, at most).

Writing a la traditional (pen and paper).

Writing a la traditional (pen and paper).

Most of the writing done nowadays is on the computer.

Most of the writing done nowadays is on the computer.

I won't ever pull off my writing this way.

I won’t pull off my writing this way, at least not yet.

Obligatory class picture!

Obligatory class picture! It was such an inspiration to see these budding writers talk about the craft. A lot of them are really wide readers. Ask them the authors on their shelves and you’ll be impressed.

This captures some of the things Bronze Age Media does: 1) events for writers and 2) publishing! That's a manuscript being edited right there (posterior).

This captures some of the things Bronze Age Media does: 1) events for writers and 2) publishing! That’s a manuscript being edited right there (posterior).

