Welcome

by joanabagano

I’m reviving an old semi-visual poem which best describes my mood these days. WP won’t cooperate with the formatting, though. This is actually posted on an old blog of mine: http://outpoursandoverflows.blogspot.com/2011/08/welcome.html

Welcome

Away from the bustling city
Teeming with peasants
and traveling gypsies
Away
from the lords
and philosophers
Away
To a world
Where reality is different
Beautiful
And magical
Peaceful, irrational
Never draw your sword
This is the doorway to a dusty old dungeon
The first step up alongflight of stairs
To a hidden tower
In a hidden paradise
This is real
This is the doorway to a dusty old dungeon
Give me your hand
We’llrunupthestairwell into ever after
Welcome to the world
Where you ought to be
Come, come
Let me whisper in your ear
“Hush
Look out the window
Hush
Listen to the flowing waterfall
Hush
Listen to the singing jays
Hush
Rest here, my dear
Rest here.”
